Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados
5.00 out of 5 from 42 user reviews.

Here is just a selection of customer reviews of Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados. You can read more of them on their site.

Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Sam L. on .
We've just returned from a weeks' stay at 203 Ocean View. We were picked up at the airport and greeted by Chauntal at the apartment. My first thoughts were "WOW". The rooms are large and airy, the kitchen had everything you needed for your stay, and the large balcony with sofas and table was my favourite place! Breakfasts and drinks at sunset there are a must! All the staff at Glitter Bay were amazing. It was great not to have to get up to get a sunbed each day. Having them assigned at the beginning of your stay is such a good idea! I'd highly recommend this apartment, and will be looking to return next year! May27th 2015
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Sarah M on .
WOW WOW WOW!!! We have just spent an incredible three weeks in this gorgeous apartment in Glitter Bay. There were four of us, my husband and two boys aged 14 and 11 and it was our best holiday yet. Firstly, the apartment. It is perfect, the furnishings are very luxurious and comfortable, we spent many a happy mealtime sitting on the balcony overlooking the sea and the gardens. Chauntel the houskeeper is just lovely, very kind and helpful. She ensured that all my washing was done so when I unpacked on returning home this morning I can just put everything away nice and clean. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathrooms and bedrooms are great sizes. And the master bed is super comfortable! Secondly, the location. It really is second to none. Glitter Bay is situated on what is widely thought to be the best section of beach on the entire west coast. It really is stunning. And the apartment is in one of the best locations of the whole development, no road noise, all you can hear is the sea. And you can just stroll up the beach to snorkel with turtles - a definite 'must-do'! Thirdly, Glitter Bay development. It is just perfect.The grounds are immaculate and the monkeys kept my children entertained. The pool is very clean and proved to be a great place for all the children to get together and play. The barmen (Alan and Rocky) really couldn't have been nicer and were great with the chlidren. They confirmed to us that the kitchen is going to be reopening for breakfasts, lunches and dinners, from around November onwards, and they plan for this to be open all year. Fourthly, the owner. Penny has been great all the way through the booking process. Helpful, honest and timely - what more could you ask for! We are already in discussions with her to go back next year - that's how much we LOVED it! And I haven't even mentioned the Bajans. What lovely people they are, they really couldn't be any more friendly and kind. If you are in two minds about booking to stay here - I can't recommend it highly enough.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Alison B on .
Paradise, you won't find a better place. Our holiday was one of the most relaxing we have had. The setting of your apartment could not be better. The ambience and the decor were just as you described, the terrace was a great place to watch the sunset with a drink. It allowed us all to enjoy the surroundings at our own pace (18 and 16 yr olds want to get up late and do their own thing). My personal favourite was walking along the seashore early in the mornings, quite often sharing it with only 1 or 2 other people. My husband enjoyed Alan and Rocky's hospitality at the beach bar; my daughter enjoyed swimming with turtles in front of The Lone Star, and my son the jet-ski’s and waterskiing. The Bajan people were very friendly and we enjoyed a trip by boat (Woody and Randy) to experience the Crop Over celebrations in Bridgetown (Rhianna didn’t show this year!). We tried out many of the restaurants on your recommended list and our favourite was Nishi, who prepared their chocolate dessert for me with Bon Voyage written on the plate on our last evening. Perry took us on a tour to see the island, and I will bring my tennis gear next time, as he tells me he is a coach too! Chantel looked after us very well too, hardly any washing to do this morning on my return. It would have been icing on the cake if the bar was serving breakfast and lunch time snacks to eat, but I think as it was quiet, they don’t plan to do that until it gets busier. We did go to Fairmont just on the other side of the lifeguard tower for lunch a couple of times. Already planning to come back at sometime, so will hopefully be in touch for a 2nd trip.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Mrs A. B. on .
BEAUTIFUL APARTMENT IN PARADISE My sincere apologies Penny for sending such a late review of your beautiful apartment. I spent two weeks on my own in this exquisite, tastefully furnished property. I fully agree with all the comments made in other reviews so it would be pointless to repeat what has already been said. Chantelle, the housekeeper, was absolutely charming and nothing was too much trouble for her. I am returning to stay during November/December this year to a beautiful apartment in the same complex, which I viewed and booked before my departure. The only reason I have not booked at “Ocean Blue” is because I prefer to travel mid week , when it is quieter, and “Ocean Blue” is from Saturday to Saturday – I did this when I stayed at Settlers Beach (which is about to be rebuilt) and I prefer the flexibility of days to travel. I would recommend this apartment to anyone. I have been coming to Barbados at the same time of year for over 10 years and love the Island more and more each time I stay.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Neil M on .
Ocean Blue is truly a wonderful apartment. Ocean Blue is set in the wonderful complex of Glitter Bay which has a lovely gardens and the apartment is just steps from the beach and for those used to 5 star accommodation this is the place for you. We thought long and hard about where to stay in Barbados and when we return which we shall,this is where we will come to. Penny has thought about the furnishing very carefully and the equipment that is needed and no expense has been spared leading to a truly relaxing and worry free holiday. The location is fantastic the people at Glitter Bay are friendly and nothing is to much trouble I would recommend Ocean Blue to anyone. Thank you Penny we will be booking again.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Virginia E on .
First Class in every way I together with my husband and 12 year old daughter stayed at Ocean Blue for 11 nights. We have never stayed in apartment before but have travelled to the Caribbean before but always stayed in five star hotels - which we will not do again! The apartment is absolutely stunning, so well equipped with everything you desire and when you are there, you do feel it is your apartment rather than a rented apartment. It was lovely having two bathrooms and two beautiful large bedrooms rather than one room at a hotel. The Glitter Bay complex is so well run and it certainly felt like a hotel complex rather than just renting an apartment. The bar is excellent for snacks at lunch time and drinks after you head off the beach, which is also stunning! You get allocated a sunbed for the duration of your stay which is a great system so no getting up at 6 a.m. together with complimentary towels! The gardens are beautiful and our daughter loved feeding the monkeys every morning, so we got through lots of bananas! The staff at reception were so helpful booking taxis, recommendations for various trips/restaurants it really could not have been better/easier. The view from Ocean Blue, which I would go as far as saying is one of the best in the complex, is stunning and we enjoyed sitting on the beautiful balcony watching the sunsets whilst sipping our champagne! I also have to mention the owner, Penny, was incredibly helpful from the moment we made the booking through to when we were departing. There was a very helpful fact sheet also left in the apartment so nothing had been forgotten. The housekeeper kept the apartment spotlessly clean and cooked us a lovely meal on our first evening. The driver Penny uses to collect you from the airport was also fantastic and we used him (Dave) for all our trips and going to restaurants in the evenings. So a very big thank you to Penny for an amazing holiday and we certainly will be returning as it was the best holiday we have had in the Caribbean and this was our 9th trip so have had lots to compare it with!!!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Judi U on .
ROMANCE AND LUXURY WITH AN ADDED TWIST Cool contemporary and elegant - Ocean Blue is one of the most luxurious and best positioned apartments on the island of Barbados and guests quickly find out why. Its glorious setting on a mile-long stretch of white sandy beach on the gentle platinum west coast overlooking the Caribbean sea make Ocean Blue one of Barbados most romantic hideaways. There was a time when white sandy beaches and the turquoise Caribbean sea would have been enough to satisfy most of travellers. These days discerning guests are looking for more; that extra special “wow” factor to make the holiday a truly memorable experience. Ocean blue therefore takes luxury to a whole new level and that’s why guests keep returning year after year. We do so we know! With unique and breath-taking ocean views from the stunning terrace, as well as stylish interiors, this spectacular apartment aspires to be 6 star and has every touch of luxury to make your holiday simply unforgettable. It really is a truly stress free experience in the sun. Penny you have surpassed yourself once again. Thank you.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Duncan P on .
ROMANCE AND LUXURY WITH AN ADDED TWIST Cool contemporary and elegant - Ocean Blue is one of the most luxurious and best positioned apartments on the island of Barbados and guests quickly find out why. Its glorious setting on a mile-long stretch of white sandy beach on the gentle platinum west coast overlooking the Caribbean sea make Ocean Blue one of Barbados most romantic hideaways. There was a time when white sandy beaches and the turquoise Caribbean sea would have been enough to satisfy most of travellers. These days discerning guests are looking for more; that extra special “wow” factor to make the holiday a truly memorable experience. Ocean blue therefore takes luxury to a whole new level and that’s why guests keep returning year after year. We do so we know! With unique and breath-taking ocean views from the stunning terrace, as well as stylish interiors, this spectacular apartment aspires to be 6 star and has every touch of luxury to make your holiday simply unforgettable. It really is a truly stress free experience in the sun. Penny you have surpassed yourself once again. Thank you.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Jane H on .
A wonderful stay at Ocean View We visited Glitter Bay in September 2013. On arrival the apartment was cool and welcoming, after a shower and a cuppa we were ready to investigate further. The beach is so very close with sun loungers at the ready just waiting for you to relax, complete with a parasol and table identification number. We went for a beach stroll every morning at 06 30 and swam in the sea, then into the pool and back for breakfast on the terrace, a great start to enjoy yet another perfect Barbados day. Whilst on the beach keep a lookout for turtle hatchlings. No 203 Glitter Bay really does have everything you could need, the living area and bedrooms benefit from air conditioning for when it is hot, hot, hot or ceiling fans if you prefer. We loved the décor, but the terrace overlooking the beach was our most favourite place of all. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, those fabulous feather pillows and cool crisp linen’s made sleeping just perfect. There is even a blender to crush the ice for your rum punch. It was helpful having the internet, there is TV and plenty of DVD’s to watch, or you can listen to music with your IPod on the docking station. There was a picnic set, cool box and ready frozen ice blocks for a day out in the Barbadian sunshine, so if you decided not to hire a car collect your BDS coins and go on a bus trip (BD$2) per trip, the yellow busses are noisy but more entertaining, the blue buses a little more calm. Try a Sunday trip out and about with the locals from the bus station in Bridgetown. Speightstown has a charm of its own, for a wonderful lunch visit L ’Attitude Bar and Grill, (open Tue -Sun, 10 00 -16 00) just beside Juma’s, amazing food, amazing view, amazing music, afterwards go down to the beach about six steps and sleep it off your lunch on one of their own sun loungers complete with parasol. Holetown is a bit closer to Glitter Bay; it has banks, bakery, bars and shopping complex plus cinema. We really had a wonderful time at Glitter Bay and the apartment was beautiful. John and Jane Date of Stay: Sep 2013
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Carys H on .
Fabulous Apartment & Location! Ocean blue is a fabulous apartment located on a quiet beach next to the fairmont! The glitter bay resort is lovely and peaceful with excellent concierge who helped us book several restaurants and also excellent bar staff. We ate at many top restaurants and liked that Penny had also recommended restaurants to go on a sheet in the apartment! The housekeeper, Chauntel, was extremely helpful and could answer all of our questions. Chauntel also gave some good recommendations, and did a fantastic job maintaing the property! The views from the balcony of the apartment were spectacular and looked just like the photos! The apartment was located in the closest block to the beach which was great and was decorated to a very high standard. We all loved the decor - the table with the shells is so beautiful! This is one of the most modern and luxurious apartments in the glitter bay resort! We would recommend Ocean Blue to anyone as it is such a fantastic apartment in the most beautiful location! We hope to return soon. Many thanks to Penny for our lovely holiday here!!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Duncan P on .
This beach side property has the "wow" factor! This is a stunning property on the best beach and with the best gardens in Barbados. You will not be disappointed. Our third visit was our best yet. We were met at the airport again by our private chauffeur "Perry" who took us to the apartment and introduced us to Chauntel our housekeeper for two glorious weeks of relaxation. The apartment was stunning. Penny the owner, has used her interior design skills to perfection to give all rooms an exotic tropical feel, as shown in the photos. In truth this apartment is furnished as the owner's elegant home and not simply a rental property. Its elevated position in the block nearest the beach on the first floor (there is a lift) means you can virtually touch the ocean. Don't be tempted to go for one further back or on the ground floor as you simply won't get a view. Chauntel spends 3 hours a day in the apartment washing ironing and cleaning. Coming home with 3 suitcases of freshly washed and pressed clothes was such a bonus. By day we swam and enjoyed the watersports and at night we ventured out to try the many fabulous restaurants on this platinum coast. The gardens are extensive and home to a family of monkeys wandering around. We also saw over 100 baby turtles hatching on the beach. Amazing! Rocky put out our sunbeds every morning and we collected our beach towels from the Concierge and the stress just evaporated from our bodies as we looked out over the turquoise Caribbean sea. Lunch (after the first rum punch of the day on the sunbed) was taken along the beach at one of the many beach restaurants or at the apartment where there are full kitchen facilities. There is a drinks service so you don’t even have to leave your sunbed to get a drink. I'm not sure why we ventured up the beach for lunch because the best lunchtime meals were served at Glitter Bay by Nuru and Allan with their attentive team. There was a really tasty menu with daily specials and once we sampled this we stayed their most days. We tried all the best restaurants, but meals at Scarlets and The Tides were really special. We met another family and went to Ragamuffins in Holetown on Sunday night for the floor show. Not to be missed (Sundays only) at 9 - remember to book though. All in all it will be one of those holidays that we look back on for ever. Yes the sun played a part, but the stunning location and Ocean Blue were the real stars in this holiday of dreams. Thank you Penny. We will be back next year. Date of Stay: Jul 2013
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Joanna O on .
Wonderful week at this lovely beachside apartment! Date of Stay: Jun 2013 My husband and I just returned from a lovely one week stay at Ocean Blue. It was our first time staying at Glitter Bay and we had a wonderful time. My husband has been coming to Barbados for 30+ years and knows the island well and we both agreed that the beach has to be one of the most stunning on the island. The apartment is designed beautifully and Penny has done a great job in sourcing high quality furniture and fixtures, at the same time incorporating the comforts of home. The apartment is very clean and well looked after. The views are also amazing and we had breakfast every morning overlooking the sea which was a wonderful way to start our day. We will definitely be back. Thank you!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Mellisa M on .
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, a Caribbean dream Review Submitted: 02-Jun-2013 Date of Stay: May 2013 We have just returned from a magical holiday at Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay. Having never written a review before, I felt I must do so on this occasion, as it such a special place. When I looked at the photos on this website I couldn't believe how beautiful it looked and the reality is even better, as you have the sound of the ocean and the wonderful warm weather to top it off. The property is everything that you could want and more. The interior design is beautifully stylish, luxurious and relaxing, making it a real pleasure to spend time in the apartment. We loved having breakfast on the terrace looking out at that stunning view and many an evening was spent sipping a gin and tonic and taking in the wonderful environment. Everywhere you look there is an interesting object, shell, piece of art or furniture. Penny, the owner's attention to detail, is second to none. The location of the apartment couldn't be better, it is set in beautiful, spacious and well kept grounds with a generous sized swimming and wading pool, which our children loved. It is also a stones throw away, from what we decided was easily the best beach on the island. The beach is idyllic with a soft white palm fringed sand beach and calm turquoise blue sea. What makes it really special though is that you can swim with turtles directly from the beach just past the Lonestar restaurant and opposite the Ramshackle beach bar. We found that the best time to see them would be around 10.30/11am when the boat trips arrive, as they feed the turtles fish so there are lots of them around. It was the best snorkelling with turtles that I have ever done as they swam right up to you so that you can stroke their shells, even swimming in between your legs! It was a really fantastic experience. After a great night out at the Ramshackle beach bar (which we loved) we were lucky enough to witness a turtle laying her eggs on the beach at Glitter Bay. My husband and I watched the female turtle for over an hour laying her eggs and returning into the sea. A magical moment that I will always remember. Feeding time at the Barbados wildlife reserve was a real highlight as was the Flower forest. We also enjoyed a lovely full moon beach barbecue at the Ramshackle beach bar with a fire on the beach. All the staff at the bar and concierge were lovely especially Chauntel the housekeeper. I would not hesitate to recommend Glitter Bay to anyone. Enjoy! Melissa M.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Lawrence S. on .
This was our second time at Ocean Blue in 2 years...if anything it was even better than the first which we would not have thought possible. The appartment is stunning as is the location and the owner has thought of everything and everything in the appartment is of the highest quality. The entire area including the beach is meticulously maintained and spotlessly clean. The administration of the booking from start to finish is highly professional and Penny runs it all with military precision. We never hire a car here and just use Perry the cab driver and the occasional reggae bus.....(dont talk politics to Perry !). Chuntel the maid is star too. Restaurants are always good....The Cliff, Tides, Daphne's, Lonestar (which has the added bonus of being only a 5 minute walk up the beach), Cincin etc. My wife and I love this appartment and it's location...we will be back again as soon as possible.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Sheila H on .
Barbados is our favorite holiday destination and the greatest recommendation we can give for this accommodation is that this was our 6th time staying in Ocean Blue! You will have already read many positive comments about this apartment all of which we endorse. The apartment looks as fresh and beautifully decorated as when we first stayed some 7 years ago. We would add that the food offered at the beach bar at Glitter Bay has recently been enhanced with a much improved lunch menu with delicious specials at very reasonable prices. Everyone including not only the staff but other guests staying are friendly - you will love this place!!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Louise M on .
Return to Paradise at Ocean Blue Returning to Ocean Blue we weren't disappointed - it was a "return to paradise " with its stunning beach front location. If you are thinking of booking then look at the other reviews - the high ratings for this property are justified. There's lots of help from Penny on any queries before you arrive and whilst you're staying the housekeeper is on hand - plus there's a nice staff team at the resort. Everything is done to make you feel special. I have to say we had some fabulous meals out - Penny helpfully lists a variety of great restaurants for you - so I don't need to record them here - you can however walk down the beach to The Lone Star or Royal Pavilion next door. Don't overlook the restaurants and bar at Lime Grove shopping centre and Sea Cat lobster was simple and very tasty. Lying on my sun lounger just yards from the astonishingly blue ocean it dawned on me why they call this place Glitter Bay. If you are looking for a stylish well appointed apartment with amazing sea view for your beach holiday then this place is for you !
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Rachel T on .
t’s the sort of apartment one hopes to find after hours of internet research but rarely ever does, everything comes together in one apartment – this is a real gem. The apartment is set in a small enclave of privately owned apartments, surrounded by gardens and a swimming pool that overlook a stunning stretch of beach on the west coast. The apartment has its own housekeeper, who met us on arrival and explained how everything worked and kept the apartment spotless during our stay. We loved the cream and white colours used in this stylish space and spent many happy hours sitting on the terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The apartment not only looks fabulous but is also practical with everything you could possibly need for a successful holiday. The beach and ocean are just a few yards away and when it comes to beaches, Barbados is hard to beat – warm azure blue sea, creamy white sand and spectacular sunsets. In the resort there is lots of space to sunbathe, with plenty shade from parasols and palm trees. We ate both in and out, but if you choose to stay in, the kitchen is well appointed and exceptionally well equipped with everything you need. We used the Super Centre, in Holetown, to stock up on groceries. When eating out, our two clear favorites restaurants were Cin Cin and the Lone Star - Scarlet’s is also worth a visit. Having spent 10 glorious days at Ocean Blue, I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone. It’s a rare find.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Stephen C on .
When I suggested to my wife, back in February last year, that it would be nice to visit Barbados again, it didn’t take many days before she emailed me a short list of the best two bedroomed apartments she thought we would like. We chose Ocean Blue at Glitter Bay and having just got back from two fabulous weeks, I wanted to submit a review. If you are searching for a super stylish apartment in Barbados, there is no need to look any further – just book Ocean Blue. You won’t be disappointed. The apartment is spacious and well equipped. The interior design is well considered and the photographs on the website are just how it is.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Gina Z on .
We are a family of four with children aged 2 and 6. Our first holiday to Ocean Blue in Barbados was fantastic and exceeded expectations in almost every respect. The booking and administrative side was dealt with swiftly and without complication. Penny helpfully answered lots of questions before we departed from the UK and our shopping list was sent ahead so we had a fridge full of food when we arrived. Most of the things that mattered to us on this holiday were things that matter to young children, or which make a holiday with young children easy and fun for all: a lovely beach with safe water to play in, a big swimming pool, other families with young children to play with, interesting trips and activities nearby. We also wanted somewhere that felt special and luxurious, away from the bucket-and-spade brigade but not so remote as to make travelling around or eating out inconvenient. Ocean Blue has it all. We ate out 50% of the time over lunch and dinner and found a good variety of restaurants to choose from, either in Holetown (a 20 minute stroll or 5 minute bus ride away), along the beach or further afield. Relatively speaking there’s something to suit all budgets, although the bar is set pretty high. However, if that’s an issue, the kitchen in the apartment has every mod-con you’ll need to fully cater your holiday. You can also buy a good variety of produce in the well-appointed local supermarket. To travel around we used the local buses, which are dirt cheap, great fun and thunder up and down the west coast with such regularity that taxis aren’t really necessary. However, on a couple of occasions we took a driver to travel to multiple destinations. We’re pleased we didn’t hire a car because road signs seem scarce and navigating around looks to be a hassle. In terms of activities, the highlight was snorkelling with turtles. We also enjoyed a day on the east coast and a couple of afternoons in tropical gardens nearby. Bridgetown was unremarkable. As for the apartment, we’d be amazed if you found anything better in the price band. It is very spacious, has wonderful views of the ocean and gardens and has been furnished exquisitely. Our washing was done every day by the maid, Chauntel, who was very kind, typical of all the locals we met and who looked after us very well. To sum up, Penny's wonderful apartment had everything we needed for a truly luxurious and effortless break. We cannot fault it.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Steve G on .
We stayed here for 10 nites with 3 children in August 2012. The unit is clean, modern, pleasing to the eye, and offers a great location near the water. The notes left in the binder for guests were very helpful. The service that the owner and housekeeping staff provide was very good. The owner even helped me find a discounted car hire. I would highly recommend the owner of this unit. The housekeeper was very friendly. I even left some cash out by accident while she was in the unit alone, and it was safe and sound. Was very impressed with that! The staff of Glitter Bay overall was very accomodating. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. The service was slow at one, but the views and distance made up for that. I would say the top things about this unit are that it is clean, modern, very pretty, and just a few steps and you are in the ocean. If I had to pick a negative, I would say I was not terribly fond of the couches as they had a lot of pillow supporting your back, and our bed we found to be a little too firm. But I am sure that is a matter of personal preference. I would recommend this unit to family/friends.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Louise M on .
From the moment we walked through the door of Penny's beautifully furnished appartment I knew we would have a memorable holiday. Drifting off to sleep to the sound of the sea in that lovely white bedroom then having breakfast on the balcony overlooking landscaped gardens and the beach was bliss. The appartment is located in an idyllic spot, private gardens, pools, tennis courts, bar and that palm fringed beach! Local shops and facilities including an new luxury shopping mall and cinema are not far away. Ocean Blue has all the advantages and privacy of your own appartment with the bonus of hotel facilites - drinks brought to your sun lounger at the waters edge, light lunches at the day-time bar or you can just stroll along the beach to the next door hotels for afternoon tea together with cream scones (recommended!) drinks or dinner. Everything about Penny's appartment is perfect - I left this magical place feeling calm, relaxed and bronzed knowing I would have to come back and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Corinna R on .
Wir waren schon das zweite mal im Ocean Blue und schon viele Male im Glitterbay das mit seiner direkten Strand - und Meerlage einfach perfekt für einen Familienurlaub ist. Das Appartment liegt nicht nur sehr schön - im 2. Stock sehr weit vorne in dritter Reihe zum Meer mit sehr schönem Strand und Seeblick - sondern ist auch sehr schön renoviert. Das mit viel Liebe zum Detail - hell und freundlich eingerichtete Appartment übertrifft die Erwartungen an ein übliches Ferienappartment bei weitem. Dass die Eigentümerin von Beruf Innenarchitektin ist, ist nicht zu übersehen. Tolle Bilder - phantasiereiche maritime Dekoration und schöne inseltypische Möbel: wir fanden's toll. Auch die technische Ausstattung (v.a. der Küche) lässt keine Wünsche offen. Von Chauntal - die an 6 Tagen die Woche (nicht an Feiertagen!) kommt, um das Appartment zu reinigen und für frische sensationell flauschige Handtücher sorgt, waren wir ebenfalls begeistert: Sie verstand sich blendend mit unserem zweijärigen Sohn und sogar unsere Wäsche wurde gewaschen und gebügelt. Der einzige Wehrmutstropfen für deutsche Bucher: Die Bezahlung ist nur in Pfund möglich, was etwas umständlicher ist als in Euro und die Anreise an einem Montag (Condor fliegt direkt nur Montags) kann dazu führen, daß ein Tag mehr gebucht werden muss (nämlich ab Sonntag) oder ein umständlicher Flug über London (mit Übernachtung) gebucht werden muss. Die restliche ehemalige Hotelanlage mit weitläufigem Park, ist obwohl kein Hotelbetrieb mehr, immer noch gepflegt - lediglich der mittlerweile 30 Jahre alte Pool könnte eine Überholung vertragen. Der wunderschöne Sandstrand macht dies jedoch wieder wett und die Meeresschildköten die von Juni bis Oktober direkt am Strand vor der Anlage ihre Eier ablegen waren das Tüpfelchen auf einem besonderen Urlaub. Wir kommen sicher wieder.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Terry M on .
We got back this morning after 2 weeks of total relaxation. The apartment was spotless, the location is perfect and staff are helpful and friendly. Chuntel the housemaid makes sure the apartment remains looking just like the photo's. It's the little things that make a difference. Like towels placed on your loungers in the morning or the wi-fi in the apartment. The beach was relatively quiet and the other residents, like minded, seemed to appreciate the serene tranquility. Our teenage daughters particularly enjoyed swimming out to see the turtles being fed by the catamaran cruises. We planned on hiring a car. But ended up using the buses up and down the west coast, and indeed, all round the island. There's still reggae music playing in my ears! The east coast has some stunning views at Bathsheba. I'm sure we'll be back!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Ann & Ian on .
After holidaying in BARBADOS for some 20 years we have had the pleasure of finding OCEAN BLUE for the last 3 years.OCEAN BLUE is situated on the beach front and offers the most WONDERFUL views and sunsets.The quaity of decor and designs are 1st class, Beverley does a wonderful job looking after guests 6 days a week. We cannot speak too highly of OCEAN BLUE, the GLITTER BAY complex, beach, situation and service and look forward to many more return visits.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Peter on .
Just got back yesterday from Barbados & we had a great time! Really loved your apartment- great location, views & beautifully furnished. We have stayed at several others in Glitter Bay & we all agree yours is definitely the best! We particularly liked the way you have done all the interior decoration. The glass topped table on the terrace with all the seashells in the base was brilliant. Chuntel & Perry both looked after us really well too. We can't wait to come back!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Anil S on .
Our family had a wonderful two weeks in Ocean Blue. The apartment is very nicely done with great views to the beach and sea, and Glitter Bay itself was perfect for us. A swimming pool and one of the best beaches around on your doorstep, and some great restaurants just a short walk away along the beach. The staff at Glitter Bay were all extremely friendly, and the place has a really nice feel to it. Penny was very helpful in sorting everything. Her daughter Anoushka even arranged a birthday cake for our son, and the children loved the housekeeper, Chauntel. We will definitely be back!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Stephen H on .
We just returned from Ocean Blue this past week. It was my husband and I and our two children, aged 5 and 9. Although it was low season there, we had a fantastic time. Ocean Blue is truly a beautiful apartment. I fell in love with the patio, it was an amazing place just to sit out and relax. The view of the ocean was fabulous, and of course, the beach and ocean were gorgeous. All of the staff at Glitter Bay were super helpful and all very pleasant. Aside from the staff at Glitter Bay, Beverly kept the apartment in tip top shape on a daily basis, and Perry was always there for us when we needed a driver. During our week we explored Harrison's Cave, enjoyed an evening at Harbour Lights and snorkled with the turtles on a catamaran cruise. Lonestar was our favourite restaurant. Being from Calgary Canada, Barbados was a long way to travel, but we will be back again for sure, and we would definitely recommend Ocean Blue to our fellow Canadians! The Hagel Family Calgary, Alberta Canada
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by June T on .
If we could choose a destination of where to spend our next vacation it would undoubtedly be this apartment. I am sitting on the terrace looking out to sea now, Penny this place is perfect!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Anon on .
Just wanted to write to you to thank you for providing us with such a beautiful apartment in Barbados. Ocean Blue was even better in real life than the pictures, and Beverley does a fantastic job in maintaining it. It was like returning to a five-star hotel suite every day. We had a great time. I thought the kids would spend most of the time in the pool but the beautiful beach and sea on your doorstep was just too inviting. They both learnt to waterski during the holiday and swam with the turtles. We couldn't get over how friendly everyone was - it was a holiday to remember and we will definitely be back. An ideal apartment in the perfect location.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Jim D on .
Ocean Blue has to be the best 2 bedroom apartment you can rent on the beach in Barbados. Beautiful views of the Caribbean Ocean from its large balcony and is less than 60 seconds walk to your sun lounger. We had a fabulous holiday despite mixed weather. We were greeted by Beverley who had organised a welcome pack including some Banks beer which went down well! Glitter Bay was previously a hotel and the apartments are now individually owned having been refurbished by their owners to different standards. Penny has done a tremendous job in creating a beautiful apartment with a mix of traditional and modern decor. The fittings and furnishings are top quality and the king size bed in the master bedroom is incredibly comfortable. The pictures are accurate but can’t totally convey the excellent interior decoration job that has been done. The kitchen has absolutely everything you could need and the balcony has extremely comfortable sofas. The apartment’s location on the first floor ocean means you have lovely ocean views unlike apartments set further back. Beverley does housekeeping 6 days a week and keeps the apartment spotlessly clean. Put your laundry in the basket and by the time you return from the beach it will be mystically washed, ironed and hanging up in your wardrobe! I just wish my other half could iron as well as Bev! The grounds of the resort are immaculately maintained with a nice sized pool and, for fitness fanatics a small gym and tennis courts. There is also a bar / cafe on site for drinks and snacks. The beach at Glitter Bay is spectacular and wider than many on the west coast and you can actually walk all the way into Holetown in 40 minutes when low tides permit. The beach is pleasantly quiet and peaceful – certainly out of peak season. Walk 10 minutes north on the beach to just beyond The Lone Star restaurant and you can snorkel out from the shore and swim with the turtles. We had a fabulous time here, the highlight being watching baby turtles hatch on the beach at Glitter Bay and several turtles laying eggs just outside the resort – even one at 11 o’clock in the day a bit down the beach. Many restaurants near by - try Nishi, Lone Star, Tides, Fish Pot, Spago, Zaccios & Tapas in the south. Our thanks to Penny for providing such a lovely apartment. It really is a stunning place for a holiday. We would thoroughly recommend Ocean Blue and once you’ve been you’ll certainly want to come back! Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by R & E M, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire on .
We have a nice home but what makes a fantastic holiday is accommodation that is as good if not better than home and Ocean Blue is real class, by its design its quality and by a person whose attention to detail is stunning....Penny is Brilliant
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Anon on .
"Perfect in every way...The owners have thought of everything that you will ever need to make your stay stress free and idillic, from the pick up at the airport to the high quality decor and fittings in the apartment itself. The daily housekeeper service was a value added feature of our stay that was much appreciated and not always available in 2 bedroom apartments on the island. The location of the first floor apartment was virtually on the sand at the delightfully peaceful beach at Glitter Bay, which also features a large swimming pool, tennis courts, a gym, immaculate grounds and a friendly residents only beach bar. We would recommend 203 Ocean Blue at Glitter Bay without hesitation and will certainly return". May 2011
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Lawrence & Shirley on .
Perfect in every way...The owners have thought of everything that you will ever need to make your stay stress free and idillic, from the pick up at the airport to the high quality decor and fittings in the apartment itself. The daily housekeeper service was a value added feature of our stay that was much appreciated and not always available in 2 bedroom apartments on the island. The location of the first floor apartment was virtually on the sand at the delightfully peaceful beach at Glitter Bay, which also features a large swimming pool, tennis courts, a gym, immaculate grounds and a friendly residents only beach bar. We would recommend 203 Ocean Blue at Glitter Bay without hesitation and will certainly return
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by B & A T, Boston, MA on .
Have returned from Barbados, had one of the most fabulous holidays ever. We all wanted to stay longer now that is a very first for me especially after two weeks.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Zam Kaderkutty on .
Just wanted to write to you to thank you for providing us with such a beautiful apartment in Barbados. Ocean Blue was even better in real life than the pictures, and Beverley does a fantastic job in maintaining it. It was like returning to a five-star hotel suite every day. We had a great time. I thought the kids would spend most of the time in the pool but the beautiful beach and sea on your doorstep was just too inviting. They both learnt to waterski during the holiday and swam with the turtles. We couldn't get over how friendly everyone was - it was a holiday to remember and we will definitely be back. An ideal apartment in the perfect location.
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by S & G S, Coventry, UK on .
Ocean Blue is the most wonderful honeymoon location - and Penny's attention to detail is unsurpassed!. We've just spent 2 weeks in heaven and can't wait to go back with the family next time. Absolutely fabulous!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by DB on .
We have just returned from Barbados (Ocean Blue) and we would like to express our sincere thanks to the wonderful Beverley who looked after us so well. We will be back!
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Moodypants on .
Sorry for the delay! After staying our 1st week in what was supposed to be a luxury 5* hotel, we were rather worried about staying in an apartment. The moment we stepped in it was WOW - amazing - the whole apartment was absolutely beautifully decorated, furnished etc.. The housekeeper was fantastic, she emptied our cases, put everything away & then did all our washing & ironing all week - we felt very spoilt. The apartment was far nicer than any 5* we have stayed in before. It was 2 mins walk to a lovely sandy beach where there were plenty of sun beds with nice thick cushions. We were there in November & it was very quiet - there were probably only about 4 other couples there & no children, so our 8 yr old daughter was a little bit bored. The bar on site was open, but they were not doing food (which was fine with us). Within a 5 min walk there was a very shabby looking beach bar called ju ju's (which we walked past the 1st day as it looked so grotty, but we were recommended it, so went in & had a lovely snack, some very strong rum punch & staggered back along the beach! A 100 yds further up is the Lonestar, where we had a amazing lunch. At tea time every day we saw the monkeys walking through the grounds of Glitter Bay, which was very entertaining for our daughter. It was an easy 5 min walk up to the bus stop, where we took the reggae bus (which wasn't at all scarey - just hold on tight!)There are so many good restaurants on the island that we unfortunately didn't get chance to visit them all. We would thoroughly recommend this apartment. It was perfect - I just wish I could pick it up and take with me every time I go on holiday, as we like to travel to different countries! Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Lucas umM on .
We stayed in Ocean Blue from 10-24 Jul 09 and we had a fantastic holiday. As an Interior Designer myself, I have high expectations but the moment we stepped into the apartment, I knew we would be staying in something really special. Not only was it beautifully furnished and very well equipped, but it was spotlessly clean aswell. Beverley was fantastic and very helpful. The location was amazing being literally 2 minutes walk from the apartment to the beach and it was sage enough to let our 7 year old son wander around on his own. What made it very special for us was seeing a turtle laying her eggs on the beach on our last morning. We will definitely return. Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Archies Mum on .
This was our tenth time in Barbados but our first at Glitter Bay. Barbados is a wonderful destination and for us Glitter Bay was truly the icing on the cake. It has a beautiful mature tropical setting and, in our view, the best beach on Barbados. It is also very tranquil and private yet in walking distance of the island's best restaurants and hotels. To add to that, Ocean Blue is a magnificent apartment (and according to many of our fellow regular guests at Glitter Bay, the best in the resort - and we have no reason to disagree). The standard of decoration, furnishing and comfort surpasses 5 star. We are already booked for the next 2 years! Catherine, Stephen and Archie(3) Hertfordshire Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Melanie1 on .
I just wanted to drop you a quick email to say what a fabulous time Richard and I had in Barbados and how perfect Ocean Blue is. We felt really at home the moment we walked through the door – the apartment really is absolutely beautiful and the way you have furnished it is perfect - we really didn’t want to leave” Melanie, Wanstead London” Recommended for: Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Rating: 5
Ocean Blue, Glitter Bay, Barbados - Reviewed by Emma 1979 on .
Wow, what can I say, the apartment was STUNNING, the location was fantastic, right on the beach and just 5 minutes on the reggae reggae bus into Holetown. Glitter Bay is so peaceful and relaxing and we would definaltely recommend you visit soon : ) x Recommended for: Romantic Getaway
Rating: 5